El Sijo's Blog

all Science and Fantasy topics

Getting into the (Writing) Saddle again

Leave a comment

better-writer-graphic

I like to write. I have done it all my life. Seriously, some of my earliest memories are of what amounts to writing Warner Brothers cartoons fanfiction. I was like 6 or 7.

And yet, I’m not a professional writer. Semi-professional, at best. I may not have published anything but I was paid to help lots of people with their projects.

And yes, I wrote fanfiction. I consider that valid, OK?  (Too bad most of them are gone now.)

Then, a few years ago, something odd happened: I couldn’t write anymore. For unknown reasons, either I couldn’t come up with ideas, or I couldn’t finish what I started. Was that what they call Writer’s Block? I don’t know.

I missed writing. A lot. I got a real joy from the whole process, from conception to reading the finished product. I didn’t care if anybody else ever read it; it was ‘’my’’ story, and I created it!

So, how come I’m writing a Blog now? Well, precisely to get me back into the Writing Groove! As the image above says, I realized that the best way to do it *was* to write. ANYTHING. As long as I committed Pen to Paper (err, Keyboard to Screen?) I would get inspiration again, sooner or later. I hope. I feel better already.

Of course, the fact I just Downloaded Windows Essentials and it included a Blog-making option (unknown to me) had something to do with it as well.

In any case. Here’s to many more, hopefully interesting posts. May you enjoy them as well. And if not- hey, at least I got to write them! Smile

Author: El Sijo

50 years old, male, single, from Puerto Rico.

Leave a Reply

